DC edge past KKR in low-scoring thriller to earn first points in IPL 2023


Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Delhi Capitals (DC) narrowly won against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to earn their first points in the IPL 2023 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. David Warner and Co. emerged victorious by four wickets against KKR in match 28 of the league on Thursday, April 20.

Upon winning the toss, DC skipper David Warner put the visiting team to bat first. What followed was an utter capitulation by Kolkata as they were outfoxed by the rival bowling unit throughout their innings. KKR debutants Jason Roy and Litton Das opened for the franchise but could only get 15 runs before the latter headed back to the pavilion for just four runs. 

After five back-to-back losses in the league, the DC bowling unit finally came to the party as they decked the rival middle-order and reduced them to 70/6 in under 12 overs. Meanwhile, Jason Roy cracked five fours and one maximum to score 43 off 39 before he was dismissed by spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

The left-arm spinner struck again in the very next ball, getting the wicket of Impact Player Anukul Roy. Adding to this, Ishant Sharma, who last played his first IPL match in 2021, claimed two wickets in his impressive spell of 2/19 in four overs. 

Down the order, explosive hitter Andre Russell stayed till the very end and got three sixes on the trot against Mukesh Kumar to help KKR post a paltry 127-run total. DC bowlers- Ishant, Kuldeep, Anrich Nortje, and Axar Patel got two wickets each to wrap up the innings.

KKR spinners put DC under pressure 

The equation for the Capitals was quite simple and coherent for them to earn the much-needed points in the IPL 2023. Skipper David Warner led from the front and carved out one of his finest knocks in the 2023 edition of the league. 

Right from the word ‘go’, Warner hit the accelerator and hammered the rival bowling unit to get the required boundaries. DC got 61 runs off the powerplay (1-6 overs), with the skipper doing the bulk of the scoring for his side. 

Meanwhile, Prithvi Shaw, who came in as the Impact Player for Ishant Sharma, continued his lean patch in the top-tier league. The right-hander was dismissed for 13 runs off 11 balls after getting two boundaries to his name.

KKR got two additional wickets in the form of Mitchell Marsh and Phil Salt for a combined score of seven runs. Warner, on the other hand, clobbered as many as 11 boundaries during his stay at the crease and top-scored with 57 off 41 balls.

Spinner Varun Chakravarthy eventually put an end to Warner’s fine innings as he concluded with two wickets in the contest. Notably, Anukul Roy, Varun and Nitish got two wickets apiece to mount the pressure on Delhi during the chase. With seven required off the final over, Axar Patel helped his side get to the finish line with four wickets remaining.

Here is how Twitter reacted to the DC vs KKR clash-

We fought till the end…the very end. Proud of our Knights! 💜

12:20 AM · Apr 21, 2023

Even if Delhi win this match, there is a lot to discuss about in the dressing room ! #DCvKKR

11:59 PM · Apr 20, 2023

What a strange game. Neither team seems to hold its nerve. #KKRvsDC

12:08 AM · Apr 21, 2023

why did khejroliya bowl the last over why ? when we had umesh and russell #KKRvsDC

12:18 AM · Apr 21, 2023

When Russell and Umesh had overs left who decided to give this last over I don’t know who the guy is 😂 #KKRvsDC

12:19 AM · Apr 21, 2023

KKR who came for easy 2 points, to David Warner after #KKRvsDC

12:19 AM · Apr 21, 2023

Bad decision by Nitish Rana, Last over should be given to Umesh Yadav #KKRvsDC

12:23 AM · Apr 21, 2023


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here